St John the Baptist, Burford
The church in Burford dates back to 1125, with the West Door dated at 1175. The hinges date back to this time and the decoration around the door is typical of this period. The building as it stands today, was completed around 1485 and several significant alterations took place before that date. The tower is Norman and repair work can be seen in the transept, where the original structure started to lean and was strengthened by the blocking in of arches for greater support. The bells are still rung weekly and the oldest dates back to the mid 14th century.
The church is visited by over 100,000 people each year and has many unique features, which are covered in more detail in our heritage section. It is open from 9am to 5pm daily (excluding Christmas Day).
A 360° of the church interior can be viewed by clicking on the logo link below: